Strategic Roundtable Conference 2005

The Australian Farm Institute’s Strategic Roundtable Conference was proudly supported by Landmark, an AWB company. The theme of the 2005 Strategic Roundtable Conference was ‘Keeping Australian Agriculture Globally Competitive’.

The 2005 Strategic Roundtable Conference was held with the objective of providing leaders in Australian agriculture with an opportunity to consider and discuss the strategic issues that are likely to shape the future of Australian agriculture over the next decade. It also provided an opportunity for broad industry input into the Institute’s 2006 Research Program, which will be determined by the Institute’s Research Advisory Committee and Board in early 2006.

Participants included Board Members of the Australian Farm Institute, members of the Institute’s Research Advisory Committee, Institute staff, invited speakers and Australian farm and agribusiness leaders.

As well as providing participants with an excellent opportunity to network with leaders of Australian agriculture, the speakers provided presentations to the conference that gave valuable insights into the domestic and international forces that are likely to shape developments in Australian agriculture over the next decade. Speakers included:

  • Dr Susan Nelle, Managing Director, National Food Industry Strategy
  • Mr Don Mackay, Chief Executive Officer & Managing Director, Australian Agricultural Company Limited
  • Mr Ken Matthews, Chairman, National Water Commission
  • Professor Margaret Alston, Director, Centre of Rural Social Research, Charles Sturt University
  • Dr Ross Kingwell, Visiting Senior Lecturer, Faculty of Natural and Agricultural Sciences, University of Western Australia & Manager of Economic Services, Western Australian Department of Agriculture.

Download the Conference Program:

22-Sep-2008 AFI Strategic Roundtable Conference 2005 : Program AFI Strategic Roundtable Conference 2005 : Program (387 KB)


Top far right: Don Mackay, AACo; top left: John Ralph (AFI Chairman), Dr Ross Kingwell (AFI RAC), Mick Keogh (AFI Executive Director); top right:Geoff Firth (Rabobank), Jock Whittle (NAB), John Dalton(DAFF); above: Mick Keogh (AFI Executive Director), Dr Susan Nelle (NFIS)